June 5, 2018

Fairfield Center Stage Presents the Fifth Annual PLAYATHON

Fairfield Center Stage, a new community theater group, will produce the fifth annual “Playathon”, a presentation of new 10-minute plays to be written, cast, rehearsed and performed in the course of a 26-hour timespan. A group of pre-selected writers, directors, and actors will assemble Friday evening, June 8 to meet and greet one another. A theme will be revealed and role types determined based on the actors present. The playwrights will then, overnight, each sit down to create a new work around that theme and the role types.

Beginning early the next morning, the actors and directors will return to the theater for an intensive day of rehearsal leading up to a presentation of the works that very evening. As an extra challenge, the writers and directors will have three recurring/shared requirements: (1) implementing a recurring prop (for example, an extension cord that must appear in each of the plays), (2) a recurring ‘acting prompt’ (for example, “each script must include an actor delivering an insincere compliment to another actor”), and (3) a ‘recurring line’ (for example, “each script must contain the line ‘You know I get like this sometimes’”).   

The performance is open to the public and will take place at 8pm Saturday evening, June 9, at Fairfield University in Fairfield at 1073 N. Benson Rd (“The Levee” event space, free parking lot). General Admission seating will begin at 7pm. The Levee will be open for restaurant & bar service (pizza, sandwiches, and a full bar) before and throughout the evening. Similar to other events of this nature, the performance will be presented with minimal scenery, costumes, and technical elements.

The cast of the 2018 PLAYATHON features local actors Jaden Bonfietti, Carly Callahan, Emma Cenhold-Haulund, James Canal, Ainsley Dahlstrom, Jonathan David, Bobby Henry, Lindsay Johnson, Todd Santa Maria, Kevin McNair, Addie Meny, AJ Montgomery, Jessica Mount, Ainsley Novin, Avery Owens, Jacqui Owens, Kevin Pelkey, Cynthia Rivera, Renee Sutherland, and Garth West.

The writers and directors include: Brian Bish, Joe Cardozo, Matthew Casey, Brian Crook, Lisa DeAngelis, Chris Gensur, Lauren Linn, Tondrea Mabins, Christy McIntosh-Newsom, Sarah Pero, Robby Sandler, and Clay Zambo.

The production staff includes Eli Newsom (Producer), Steve Benko (Associate Producer), and Jessica Roller (Stage Manager).

All tickets are $10 (general admission, no advance ticket sales). All ages are welcome, however the recommended age is 13+ for this event.  Seating will be general admission and tickets are only available at the door (cash/check). For more information please email


%d bloggers like this: