Advertisements
Close

January 2, 2019

AUDITIONS – SISTER ACT

 Open Call: January 5th, 12:00pm-6:00pm

Call Backs: January 6th, 2:00pm-6:00pm

We are seeking actors and singers of all ages, types, ethnicities, etc. to cover all principle and ensemble roles.

FOR ALL AUDITIONING:
Please read the info below in detail.  Specifically please take note to the ‘please prepare’ section

Downtown Cabaret Theatre in Bridgeport, CT is excited to be holding open call auditions for their upcoming production of SISTER ACT on January 5, 2019 from 12:00pm – 6:00pm at 263 Golden Hill St in Bridgeport.

Callbacks will be held January 6, 2019 from 2:00pm – 6:00pm

APPOINTMENTS:

If you are planning on auditioning, please sign up for a time slot here. If there are no more slots available, we will still fit you in as time permits. We will see everyone who attends regardless of having an appointment.

PLEASE NOTE: This is an unpaid community theatre production.

***WE ARE PROUD TO ANNOUNCE THAT THIS PRODUCTION WILL BE DIRECTED AND CHOREOGRAPHED BY A MEMBER OF THE ORIGINAL BROADWAY CAST***

ABOUT THE SHOW:

Sister Act is the feel-good musical comedy smash based on the hit 1992 film that has audiences jumping to their feet! Featuring original music by Tony- and eight-time Oscar winner, Alan Menken (Newsies, Beauty and the Beast, Little Shop of Horrors), this uplifting musical was nominated for five Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

When disco diva, Deloris Van Cartier, witnesses a murder, she is put in protective custody in the one place the cops are sure she won’t be a found: a convent! Disguised as a nun, she finds herself at odds with both the rigid lifestyle and uptight Mother Superior. Using her unique disco moves and singing talent to inspire the choir, Deloris breathes new life into the church and community but, in doing so, blows her cover. Soon, the gang is giving chase, only to find them up against Deloris and the power of her newly found sisterhood.

Filled with powerful gospel music, outrageous dancing and a truly moving story, Sister Actwill leave audiences breathless. The cast is chock full of amazing roles for women of all ages. A sparkling tribute to the universal power of friendship, Sister Act is reason to REJOICE!

Production dates are as follows:

Rehearsals
Rehearsal Week 1 – ​Monday February 11 – Thursday February 14, 6:30-10:00p

Rehearsal Week 2 – ​Sunday February 17 – Thursday February 21, 6:30-10:00p

Rehearsal Week 3 – ​Sunday February 24 – Thursday February 28, 6:30-10:00p

Rehearsal Week 4 – ​Sunday March 3 – Thursday March 7, 6:30-10:00p

TECH WEEK – ​Sunday March 10 – Thursday March 14, 6:00-11:00p

Performances
Opening – ​Friday March 15 ​– 7:30

Saturday March 16 – 5:00 + 8:15

Sunday March 17 ​– 4:30

Friday March 22 ​– 7:30

Saturday March 23 – 5:00 + 8:15

Sunday March 24 ​– 4:30

Friday March 29 ​– 7:30

Saturday March 30 – 5:00 + 8:15

Sunday March 31 ​– 4:30

Thursday April 4 – 7:30

Friday April 5 ​– 7:30

Saturday April 6 – 5:00 + 8:15

Closing​ – ​Sunday April 7 ​– 4:30

When:
Saturday January 5

Actors ages 16+ from 12:00p – 6:00p

Sign-ins begins at 11:00am, non-appointment open call sign-up ends at 5:00pm

Actors without appointments will be seen in order of arrival

Where:
Downtown Cabaret Theatre
263 Golden Hill St. Bridgeport CT 06604

What to prepare:
All actors should bring a current headshot (or recent photo) and 1 page acting resume or list of theater/performing experience.

Please prepare 2 selection/short songs (approx 1 min/16 bars) from a musical or pop song in the style of the show (singing from the show is ok). Preferably (1) ballad and (1) uptempo. Bring sheet music in the appropriate key. A cappella singing is highly discouraged- please bring sheet music. An accompanist will be provided.

If you are planning on auditioning, please sign up for a time slot here. If there are no more slots available, we will still fit you in as time permits. We will see everyone who attends regardless of having an appointment.

Callbacks:

Callbacks for this productions will take place Sunday January 6

The rehearsal schedule for Main Stage Theatre is generally Mon-Thurs from 6:30pm-10pm and for most productions, Sunday evenings 5-9pm or some afternoons, based on cast and directors’ schedules).

If you are unable to attend auditions, but would still like to be considered, please submit your headshot and resume to submissions@mycabaret.org

Questions?:
contact submissions@mycabaret.org

Downtown Cabaret Theatre is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization entering its 43rd season. For more info about DCT or their 2018/19 season visit www.MyCabaret.org

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: